June 5, 1963 – My First Special Day to Remember

The day I saw President Kennedy.

Caroline's Place to Write

It was a magical day for me.  That day was June 5, 1963.  I was living in Colorado Springs, Colorado and experienced what was to become a day to always remember.  I was at the football stadium at the Air Force Academy to see one of the most famous men of all time…John Fitzgerald Kennedy, President of the United States.  I was thrilled and so excited my parents brought me here!  I was mesmerized.  President John Kennedy flew in on his helicopter and landed outside the Air Force Academy football stadium.   It was such an exciting moment for me, a 5 1/2 year old…watching my very own President Kennedy drive into the stadium, sitting in the back of that big black Cadillac, waving at thousands of people!  WOW!

My Dad told me that President Kennedy was going to talk to all of the Air Force Academy Cadets that…

View original post 261 more words

About Caroline

Daughter, Sister, Mom... I think the best thing I've done is to be a mom, to give my kids my love but not my thoughts and to listen, observe, offer advice when needed.
This entry was posted in Just Because. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 5, 1963 – My First Special Day to Remember

  1. Nathan says:

    Well written Caroline. Certainly brings back memories for all Americans at least. I was in a Jr. High school that has long since been torn down. They called us into the auditorium to listen the news coverage. It was a very sad and somber day for everyone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

