DAYS AS ANOTHER WOMAN

This is a true story I wrote, that eventually became a speech I did in Toastmasters, and eventually I put it on my blog. Enjoy.

Caroline's Place to Write

March 1, 1932 – Tuesday.  I was at home with my husband, Richard Hauptmann, after spending a full day at the bakery I worked at.  My husband helped me close up that night of March 1st.  I remember it was a cold night..snowing in Hopewell, New Jersey.  Coming from Germany I was just getting used to all this snow.

The next day, the headlines in the paper read that a baby had been kidnapped from a second story window at the Lindbergh estate close to town.  Lindbergh…yes – that must be Charles Lindbergh, the American aviator that flew over the Atlantic.  I proceeded to read that a kidnap note was found written by someone who probably knew little English, possibly a German.   The child, Charles Lindbergh Jr, a 20 month old boy was nowhere to be found.

Over the next couple of weeks I read several things about this kidnapping. …

View original post 880 more words

About Caroline

Daughter, Sister, Mom... I think the best thing I've done is to be a mom, to give my kids my love but not my thoughts and to listen, observe, offer advice when needed.
This entry was posted in Just Because. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DAYS AS ANOTHER WOMAN

  1. Wanda Reaves says:

    So well written, honey. This case has always interested me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

