A young girls memories of the Monahans flood

I don’t remember what year it was (64, 65 or 66) that my family and I were in Monahans, Texas visiting my wonderful grandmother, Granny Latham at her house.  One day it rained and rained and rained and then it flooded – I mean flooded so much the water surrounded Granny’s house.  It probably was dangerous but I don’t ever remember being afraid!  I thought of it as an adventure.  (My parents and Granny were definitely concerned though).  All of us kids, I don’t remember how many there were but me, my siblings and some of my cousins couldn’t get out of the house and I’m sure we were driving the adults crazy!

My Mom and Granny decided they would let us kiddos out of the house somehow, so they let us use a small plastic swimming pool and also a metal tub – as boats – so we could row, row, row our boats in the flood.  I remember my mom gently letting us out of the side door in our make shift boats and we “rowed our boats” all over the back yard. WOW – It was fantastic!  I mean – the water was at least 3 feet high and I couldn’t have been much taller myself!!  The water was brown as dirt and flowing like a river all around us.  I couldn’t have thought of anything more fun to do than float around Granny’s house then, slowly becoming a muddy non-existent backyard.

Yet, the strangest thing happened.  As we were floating around in our make shift boats, screaming with delight, we all of a sudden found tons of thick glass pieces floating in the water with us – Coke bottle glass!  What was this?  It’s like it came out of nowhere.  Granny later told us that there used to be a coke bottle factory nearby and they dumped all the glass in the backyard. It was crazy how much glass was floating around that day.  Even 15 years later, I still found glass in my Granny’s back yard.

Monahans Main Street 50's

Monahans Main Street 50’s

About Caroline

Daughter, Sister, Mom... I think the best thing I've done is to be a mom, to give my kids my love but not my thoughts and to listen, observe, offer advice when needed.
This entry was posted in Family Memories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A young girls memories of the Monahans flood

  1. Wanda Reaves says:

    Thank goodness the glass shards had been in the sand so long that the edges were not sharp.
    Some may have been but the sand affected the glass like sand paper would. Reading this made me feel like I was there….so realistic. Takes me back.

    Like

  2. Jan Garner says:

    There were many adventures in that backyard over the years, missed that one. Sounds like it was a great adventure for all.

    Like

  3. Caroline says:

    Thanks for reading Jan!

    Like

  4. Sweet story! Thanks for sharing Caroline.

    I remember visiting Granny Latham in Texas when I was about 4 or 5 years old.

    I never saw cotton plants until then.

    Her world seemed magical to me, with the beautiful golden sunrise and sunsets, soft sharp cotton plants and the colorful rooster waking everyone up early in the morning.

    She was so kind. Every time I would say “Granny” she would think I was talking to her, but I was talking to my dad’s mom. I was so shy but she was so understanding. I could tell she and Granny were close.

    It was so hard to wrap my head around my Granny having a mother at that time:) I think back then, I just thought that Granny was born to me and no one else.

    Like

  5. These are my exact memories too!

    Like

  6. Nathan says:

    oh for the carefree days of childhood. fun was cheap in the pre-video game and pre-everything days!

    Like

Leave a Reply

