My Favorite Sunrise

Excerpt from Interview With a Vampire, by Anne Rice

The boy’s face was tense with a mixture of confusion and amazement.  “And so you decided to become a vampire?” he asked.  The vampire was silent for a moment.

“Decided.  It doesn’t seem the right word.  Yet I cannot say it was inevitable from the moment that he stepped into that room.  No, indeed, it was not inevitable.  Yet I can’t say I decided.  Let me say that when he’d finished speaking, no other decision was possible for me, and I pursued my course without a backward glance.  Except for one.”

“Except for one? What?”

“My last sunrise,” said the vampire. “That morning, I was not yet a vampire. And I saw my last sunrise.”

“I remember it completely; yet I do not think I remember any other sunrise before it.  I remember the light came first to the tops of the french windows, a paling behind the lace curtains, and then a gleam growing brighter and brighter in patches among the trees.  Finally the sun came through the windows themselves and the lace lay in shadows on the stone floor, and all over the form of my sister, who was still sleeping, shadows of lace on the shawl over her shoulders and head.   As soon as she was warm, she pushed the shawl away without awakening and then the sun shone full on her eyes and she tightened her eyelids.  Then it was gleaming on the table where she rested her head on her arms, and gleaming, blazing in the water in the pitcher.  And I could feel it on my hands on the counterpane and then on my face.  I lay in the bed thinking about all the things the vampire has told me, and then it was that I said good-bye to the sunrise and went out to become a vampire.  It was … the last sunrise.”

      (Please reply below with quotes from your favorite books!)

About Caroline

Daughter, Sister, Mom... I think the best thing I've done is to be a mom, to give my kids my love but not my thoughts and to listen, observe, offer advice when needed.
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Favorite Sunrise

  1. Nathan says:

    I put the Harley exactly on the centerline. Both truck drivers put one of their outer wheels just off the road to give me as much room as they could. Neither driver panicked, swerved, or hit the brakes; both maintained their cool and managed their rigs perfectly. My mirrors were inches away from both trucks as the three of us met on that narrow road in the Ozark National Forrest.

    From Motorcycle Safety, Humorous Short Stories and Life Saving Tips by Nathan Gibson

    Like

Leave a Reply

