Garbage and the Government

When I was in pre-school and kindergarten living on the Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colorado I thought I had figured out something very important about the government.  As a result I thought I must be a pretty smart girl, already knowing what the government does for us!  I used to always think that “the government” were the people who came and picked up the garbage every week.  I really did and I was most certain of that!  I always thought it was a bit strange that a person like President Kennedy picked up garbage every week – because they never showed him picking up garbage on the television! And truthfully, I’ve never heard so much talk about a garbage man as I did President Kennedy.  As a matter of fact, I never knew any of the other garbage men’s names except for President Kennedy.

I know for a fact that this thought came from a conversation I had overheard between my Dad and one of our next door neighbors.  Our neighbor was having a very deep discussion with my Dad one day while I was out front with my Dad as he was watering the lawn.  Our neighbor was raising his voice about something the government did and he told my Dad that “The government is just a bunch of garbage men”!  Being such a young child I took it quite literally and from then on out I always looked for President Kennedy to come and pick up our garbage on garbage day!

About Caroline

Daughter, Sister, Mom... I think the best thing I've done is to be a mom, to give my kids my love but not my thoughts and to listen, observe, offer advice when needed.
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garbage and the Government

  1. Nathan says:

    You had it only partially confused a child. The government does not pick up garbage, they deliver it. Nice story, enjoyed it. g

    Like

Leave a Reply

