June 5, 1963 – My First Special Day to Remember

It was a magical day for me.  That day was June 5, 1963.  I was living in Colorado Springs, Colorado and experienced what was to become a day to always remember.  I was at the football stadium at the Air Force Academy to see one of the most famous men of all time…John Fitzgerald Kennedy, President of the United States.  I was thrilled and so excited my parents brought me here!  I was mesmerized.  President John Kennedy flew in on his helicopter and landed outside the Air Force Academy football stadium.   It was such an exciting moment for me, a 5 1/2 year old…watching my very own President Kennedy drive into the stadium, sitting in the back of that big black Cadillac, waving at thousands of people!  WOW!

My Dad told me that President Kennedy was going to talk to all of the Air Force Academy Cadets that were graduating from college that day.  My Dad called him the “commencement speaker” for the Air Force Academy 1963 graduating class.  I loved President Kennedy’s voice as he spoke-it was like no one I had ever heard!  That made him even more special to me.  I remember after he spoke hundreds of the Air Force cadets threw up their hats in the air.  That was so exciting to and I think President Kennedy liked it too!

President Kennedy, 1963

President Kennedy, 1963

That day was a day that froze in my mind forever.  I could sense even as a young girl that this president was very special and I now could say I saw the most important person in the world that day, President Kennedy!  I couldn’t wait to tell all of my friends.

Five months later…November 22, 1963.  I remember less about where I was at and more about how I felt.  I think I was in a store with my mother, and I was happily singing a tune when all of a sudden a voice over the loud-speaker at the store breaks into my childish medley….”President John Kennedy has been shot…President Kennedy has been shot in Dallas, Texas.”  I don’t know if anything else was said.  I stopped singing and stood still, looking at my mommy.   “Mommy?”  “What does that mean Mommy?  My President has been shot, Mommy?”  I don’t remember anything else about that day.

If you were alive then you probably remember where you were on that day in November, 1963.  I prefer to remember June 5, 1963 – my first special memory.

From a newspaper I saved from 2 days after his death.

About Caroline

Daughter, Sister, Mom... I think the best thing I've done is to be a mom, to give my kids my love but not my thoughts and to listen, observe, offer advice when needed.
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to June 5, 1963 – My First Special Day to Remember

  1. Mom says:

    I, too, remember it well. The three of us were in the variety store with the name of Kresge’s.

    Like

  2. Nathan Gibson says:

    What were you guys doing out shopping, I was in Jr. High school. We all got herded into the auditorium for that tragic announement. Two days I remember where I was in my whole life…….JFK’s death and 9/11.

    Like

  3. bonniereaves says:

    I was in 3rd grade at Douglass Valley Elementary school. Why weren’t you guys in school? It was before lunch (MST) and the students were informed in the cafeteria at lunch time.

    Like

  4. Caroline says:

    I don’t know – as you see…Mom says we were in Kresges. Maybe I was sick or something.

    Like

  5. Mom says:

    Cathy and Caroline were 4 yrs. old and turned five a couple of weeks later. So they were not yet going to school!! From Kresge’s we walked down the street in Colo. Springs to a cafe called Ruth’s Oven where we were meeting a friend (Doiminquez). We walked in and the tv was on with Walter Cronkite with tears in his eyes.

    Like

  6. Caroline says:

    Reblogged this on Caroline's Place to Write and commented:

    The day I saw President Kennedy.

    Like

  7. Hal Jaeke says:

    The first thing I thought of this morning was “it’s Nov.22nd…. JFK was shot in 1963.” Funny how that can effect a 6 year old kid.

    Like

Leave a Reply

