My New Place to Write

“You gotta start blogging this stuff Mom!”  That’s what my daughter said.  That’s what did it.  One sentence spoken.  One daughter speaks it.  One look finally did it.

The other day I was on the train coming home from work in Austin, Texas and I saw something that was … well …. I don’t know what to say…”sad” or “shocking” or “surprising”.  But I knew I couldn’t put it on Facebook because I really didn’t want to offend anybody.  I mean, I’m a nice person and everything and I didn’t want anybody to think bad things.  But I knew I needed to write it down.  Having experiences in my mind and not being able to share them is almost just as bad as cooking an awesome meal and not having anybody else to eat it!  So it was that experience 2 days ago on the train that made my daughter push me to blogging.

I’ve written “stuff” down for a long time and sometimes share what I write with family, friends.  It seems like such a shame to write tons of stories and just let it sit on some folder on my computer.  My creative writing teacher in High School would be very upset to know that a lot of what she taught me was being wasted by hiding in folders.  She always gave me an A on everything I wrote…sometimes even an A++ if I was lucky (but then again she said to all of us at the beginning of the semester that she only gave A’s out – as long as we did the work.) So as a result, the A++ became a treasured grade by me.

I told my daughter one day that I wanted to write a book but I didn’t know if anybody would read it.  She said “Who cares, just write it!”  Well, I haven’t written my book yet but I thought I’d get some practice in, by blogging.

I share a lot of things on Facebook but the problem is I only have about 400 and some odd characters.  Kinda hard to write stories there.  So, I thought I’d start blogging my stories and then my family and  friends have a choice on whether to click to my blog or not.

I already have a lot of stories to share, some written, some not.  So – I’m looking forward to this new adventure – and if you start reading my stories on my blog, let me know what you think if you want – but better yet just enjoy.

About Caroline

Daughter, Sister, Mom... I think the best thing I've done is to be a mom, to give my kids my love but not my thoughts and to listen, observe, offer advice when needed.
This entry was posted in Just Because. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My New Place to Write

  1. Vicky Flint says:

    Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging, Caroline! Have a blast with it! (I’ve written some blogs – dental hygiene articles – but have been thinking about writing my thoughts about some of the books I’m reading and things I’m always learning, forever student that I am. I’m thinking of naming my blog You Think Too Much, ‘cuz that’s what people tell me. You’ve inspired me to look at it again) I look forward to your next post!! Love, Vicky 🙂

    Like

  2. Sylvia Harry says:

    Caroline, I love reading even the limited things I’ve read from you on Facebook and of course your emails. You’re great at expressing yourself and you certaintly should KEEP ON !! The way you write reminds me of my almost 18 y/o grandson, Joshua Reaves, he is your cousin Mark’s son. He writes like a much older guy, got an A+ on a paper he wrote for class about his relationship with his Grandpa, Jerry Harry. I’ll have to send you a copy. By the way, I was dying to hear what happened on the train, tell me ! Your sister , Bonnie, is no slouch at expressing herself, must run in the family. Love you dearly, Aunt Gerre

    Like

    • Caroline says:

      Thanks! I will write on my next blog about what I saw on the train a few days ago. I’ll let this first one get read for a few days before I blog again.

      Like

  3. Bonnie says:

    I look forward to reading your blog! Maybe I’ll start one. Remember that evening with Susan and Mom and we talked about me writing? I want to. I have a lot to say … as do you.
    Love you, sister.

    Like

  4. Maggie says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging! Can’t wait to see more from you!

    Like

  5. Gail says:

    Looking forward to reading your blogs! I love to write too! …. Gail

    Like

  6. Nathan says:

    Congratulations! This could be the first step toward your book. Two of my all time favorite authors, Mark Twain and Thomas Hardy, wrote and released books to newspapers one story at a time. In the mid 1800s….that was blogging!

    Like

  7. Carol Reaves says:

    For some time now I have been toying with the idea of writing a journal/notebook about the Alzheimer’s Road Roy and I are traveling together. I have learned so much about not only the disease but my reactions and behavior, other friends and family reactions, and stupid columns that I feel the need to educate a lot of people.

    Like

  8. So excited to see what you have to say! You have always had a wonderful way of telling the stories from your life! Love you, sweet cousin!!!

    Like

  9. Caroline says:

    thanks for subscribing!

    Like

  10. Jan says:

    This family has lots of stories to be written, and everyone is so good at it. I enjoyed and and look forward to reading more. Blogging would be great for Teach to share his stories.

    Like

  11. Bonnie says:

    Jan, I have some great stories about Teach!

    Like

  12. Valerie Reaves Kyle says:

    Caroline I really enjoyed your blog! I knew we Reaves could talk alot and remember our stories. I had no idea you could express yourself so wonderfully in writting! What an awesome gift and awesome art. I am ready for more! Love you cousin! Understand Bonnie is gifted in writting as well. Must come from writting all those letters to all of us as y’all traveled. Valerie

    Like

  13. Aunt Prissy says:

    Caroline – I loved it. Every one of them – so touching, the birth of John Ryan. I remember my time there. You truly have a gift. So start placing them in chapters. Love you, Aunt Prissy

    Like

  14. Al Powers says:

    BLOG-what does it mean? After all, I’m just an 80 yr old Senior who’s seen or experienced it all
    until this new digital age hit. To me, I’m in a fog over blog-like a frog jumpin’ over a log-so just jog my nog-I’m outside the box! Blog could be B-Log, as in book-log.-or, Better Let Out Gas……ouch!
    Maybe Best-Line-Of-Gab. Who came up with this name BLOG (Blaine Longfellow Gardner) ?
    Anyway, you write so smooth & poetic as to capture the moment you are describing. Good recap
    of your life experiences. Best Regards, Al Powers @Lakewood, Colorado

    Like

Leave a Reply

